Maryland Agriculture Council News & Updates

Mike Harrison Maryland Ag Council President 2021
Michael Harrison Jr., Maryland Agriculture Council Board of Directors President
April 20, 2021

Maryland Agriculture Council Leadership Elected

Michael Harrison Jr. of Woodbine was elected president of the Maryland Agriculture Council Board of Directors during its April 20th board meeting. Having served as vice president during the past year, he replaces outgoing leader, Nancy Nunn of Queenstown.

Harrison has been a member of the Council’s board since 2017, serving on numerous committees and playing an integral part in the group’s annual Taste of Maryland Agriculture. The University of Maryland graduate works as a customer business adviser for Bayer Crop Science.

“I’m really looking forward to the exciting year ahead,” he said. “Promoting Maryland agriculture and sharing its importance with every elected official and citizen in the state is a challenge, but it is imperative that we continue that mission.”

Karen Engel of Keymar was elected vice president of the organization and Kayla Griffith of Lothian will fill the role of secretary. Henry Brandt of Centreville was re-elected as treasurer.

Newly elected to the Board of Directors was Emily Wilson of Harwood. Re-elected board members, serving a two-year term, were, Ray Greenstreet of Tracy’s Landing, Donna Landis-Smith of Marydel, Putt Willett of Laytonsville, Chuck Schuster of Glenwood, Susanne Richards Zilberfarb of Leonardtown, Robert C. Miller of Smyma, DE, David Gordon of Jefferson, Gail Yeiser of Arnold, Matt Teffeau of Annapolis, Calvert Steuart of Huntingtown, Kim Smith of Arlington, VA, Nunn, Harrison, Brandt and Griffith.

Download Press Release

2021 Taste of Maryland Agriculture

Special thank you to our the sponsors of our 2021 Taste of Maryland Agriculture Event — Press play to watch the event